Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Heavy smokers..

Leave a comment

(28. september 2008) Written as an example.. Friday at work I was driving bus as usual. Then at the bus station when I stopped a man entered the bus. His fingers was yellow and black at the fingertips. A heavy smoker, I thought to myself, even though I had not seen him smoking. He entered the bus and asked for a ticket to the city. After just some 20 seconds I felt my lung capasity drop, and this time I was about to have a bad asthma attack. I felt my airways tighten. I felt it coming, so I held my breath to avoid to breathe the fumes from him in ’til I had given the man his ticket and change. Then I hurried to open the side window to get some fresh air. The attack stopped.

You smokers. If you only knew what pain your pleasure is to other people. It is not only ordinary discomfort. It is not only that “others think smoking is a nasty habit… or it smells badly”. It is also a health problem to some. For me it can also be a hazard to my health. Everyone knows what happens if you can not breathe right? For me the problem comes when smokers and people drowned in parfume standing close up in front of me. Some meters away, or for example seated in the back of the bus the smoker or parfumed is no problem, but in a small car it is anohter matter. I have no problem when I am sitting alone in my drivers seat in the bus driving. Because then I am not in contact with the substanse that make me sick. And then I feel I am just as healthy as anyone.
It is not only the smoke that is a plague. For us with asthma it is enough to get in touch with the chemicals that stick to you. Smokers breathe, smokers clothes, parfume a.s. For others it can also be animals, or just about anything else.
Well, mostly you can’t help giving me trouble. And the passenger with the chemicals on do not know I got asthma. Then I mean such people that give me asthma problems cause of their breath or parfume. So one can only forgive them. But those people that enters the bus or any other place and blow the smoke on other people. In this case me. They could really do something about it. Sometimes people smokes outside the bus, throws away the cig and enters the bus blowing the smoke out inside the bus. I get the smoke in my face, or in the air around me, and I get sick from it. It is rude and uncaring to others. Every day I have to tell some smokers not to smoke in front of the bus doors, and not to blow out smoke in the bus. I hate to be a nag. Nagging, actually that is not really me. I am not a nagging person. But they who smoke in a uncaring way make me become such a person.
As a bus driver I also have the responsibility for the passengers well-being and having a nice trip. Not all like smoking, and also there can be people with asthma onboard among the passengers. So what can you as a smoker do to help us?
  1. Do not smoke before you enter the bus, in front of doors, inside buildings, at bus stops a.s.
  2. Keep the smoke away from other people.
  3. Change clothes everyday.
  4. Maintain a good personal hygiene.
  5. And do not smoke so much (if you can help it).
  6. If you use parfume. Remember that less is more.
You think I am a nag?  Well, I am not. I and others with asthma just want to be able to do what everyone else takes for granted. To breathe easily.
/ Annelie
  (Other things that can make my asthma popup is when in contact with tobacco, parfume or other chemicals).
28. september 2008 14:48

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

