Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

What is an acute asthma attack like?

Leave a comment

(27. september 2009) Asthma is a common condition that affects the airways. The typical symptoms are wheeze, cough, chest tightness, and shortness of breath. Symptoms can range from mild to severe. Asthma cannot be ‘cured’, but treatment usually works well to ease and prevent symptoms. Treatment is usually with inhalers. A ‘typical’ person with asthma may take a preventer inhaler every day (to prevent symptoms developing), and use a reliever inhaler as and when required (if symptoms flare up). See a doctor urgently if you develop severe symptoms that are not eased by a reliever inhaler. In particular, if you have difficulty talking due to shortness of breath. You may need emergency treatment with high dose reliever drugs and other treatments, sometimes in hospital. A severe asthma attack can be life-threatening.
When you breathe air is transported down to your lungs. Air is transported via the windpipe and via the lower air ways called the bronchi, and oxygen is transported in to the blood to help you stay alive. When you get an asthma attack the air pipe and bronchi tighten itself and mucus is deloped. The “highway” for air and oxygen comes clogged, very tight and narrow. This leads to that not enough oxygen is allowed to be transported to the blood, and in the end the brain and all other organs in the body get to little oxygen. And because of the narrowing of the windpipe and the bronchi the person get problem breathing, and may in worst case die.

Describing an acute attack

I have had acute asthma attacks, I can tell you it is no nice experience. Many things can cause an acute asthma attack. Among them are what the person get sick from depending on how sensitive the person is to what they get sick from. Emotional stress is also something that is a hugh factor for starting asthma attacks. Asthma attacks can come in different forms.
I have had three such hugh acute asthma attacks so far 2010, and I have also had smaller attacks. But this is about the worst.

The silent one

The first acute attack I had felt more like a slow suffocating that made me very tired and weak. I went to the emergency room at the hospital to get help. Sitting at the hospital waiting I got more and more tired and felt like going to sleep because of the asthma attack. I was on my way of dropping out of consiousness.

The violent one

The other time I coughed so hard and fought to get air so hard for three hours time to get air that it felt like if the muscles by the ribs at my side of the chest were coming up the air tubes. Finally I was so tired and finished by coughing so hard that I had to go to the emergency room at the hospital to get help again. I was so sore and hurt badly in my body after all the force trying to get air. Every time I coughed I had to hold my chest because it was so sore and tender, and I could not even stand up straight because of the hurt. There are really violent forces going on when one are coughing so hard fighting for air during at such acute asthma attacks. When I called the emergency room they told me to come at once. When I was waiting I got and felt weaker by the minute. When I finally met the doctor he tried to talk  to me like doctors do with a new patient to find out the problem. But he soon gave up when he realised he better put me in the asthma medicin inhaling machine at once. Good choice. They messured oxygen level and puls. I sat in the asthma medicin machine for a long time before I got better. I was so tired from the attack that I was to tired to even feel happy about being better again. Not until next day I had the strenght to really be happy about it.
Take care, and help someone in need.
/ Annelie
27. september 2009 19:21

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

