Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

To the emergency room with asthma attack

Leave a comment

Now it is 02.25 at night and I have just gotten home from the emergency room at the hospital. I got medicine from the inhaling machine.

I had a tight chest and when I arrived the nurse did not seem to believe me. She said it does not sound like an asthma cough. Well, it is I said, my asthma sounds like that.

She took the CRP like they always do to check if I got an infection going on. CRP showed zero, nothing. The doctor on watch listened to my lungs and asked me to take deep breaths. I do breathe as deep as I can, I said. He looked a little strangely at me. Wonder what he thought? I do not know, he did not say anything. He went out the room and told the nurse it is asthma, and then told her what to give me.

I was placed on the bed. Been here, done this many times now. The nurse filled the container on the machine with liquid medicine and started the machine. I got a mask to put on, and the machine started to make the liquid to something that can best be described as mist. This I inhaled. I sat there on the bed for 5-10 minutes inhaling the mist and I felt I could breathe deeper for every breath. When the container was empty, I paid, talked to the doctor and went home.

So now I am home feeling much better. No heavy breath, not tight chest, no cough, feeling almost brand new. :)

There is a lesson in this also. When I talked to the doctor he told me that when I get a cold I must be aware that the cold can trigger the asthma to break out. Therefor I must get treatment if it takes to long. The cold can turn into asthma attacks instead. Meaning that if one get a cold, and the cold passes (no bugs any longer and CRP is ok) and one continue coughing it has turned in to asthma problems. And I believe him. I felt like someone standing on my chest before I went to the emergency room. Now I feel like I have no cough at all and I can breathe freely. The cough was asthma.

If I feel this fine all day through tomorrow to I will go to work Thursday.

I am so happy there is medicine.

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

