Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

My Allergy

Leave a comment

In addition to my asthma  I got some kind of allergy. They discovered that at the same time as they discovered I got occupational asthma in 2007. But they could not put a finger on what I am allergic to, I am sensitive to so many chemicals it was impossible to pick one. The work finding the specific allergen was to hard, since there are thousands of chemicals. But probably it got something to do with what I am asthmatic to, I was told. (View about asthma: info sheet and videochemicals)

Anyway.. I got medicine for it, antihistamine, and that I must take everyday. Sometimes when I forget to take the allergy medicine I get rather quickly reminded. It starts itching all over the body and I get red blushy areas where it itches.

It happened once when I went to my sister for the holidays one year. I forgot to take my medicine with me, actually I forgot all of my bag with shampoo, conditioner, shower cream, brush, tooth-brush and everything. And went 1100 km by car to visit my sister. I found out I forgot my bag half way there. To late to turn to get it…

And what is the problem with that? Well, besides that I must have special products for showering and such, and I had to go shopping to maybe find some products I could use without getting sick because of my asthma, my sister lives in another country than me and during the holidays most stores are closed.  It is also harder to get help with the doctor and pharmacy. And my subscription for my medicine is not valid in the country where my sister live. So to get my medicine I had to go to the emergency hospital and wait for hours to see a doctor (on Christmas day) to get a new subscription and then go and try to find an open pharmacy before I could take my antihistamine. And it took hours. And before I made it I itched so bad all over my body that I thought I was about to go nuts over it. It itched from top to toe, my sculp, all body, and even under my feet, and my hand palms.

This happened today too. I forgot to take the pills for two days. A really bad idea. I went to a restaurant with a friend and we had a very nice evening with lots to talk about.

During the afternoon I got my reminder. And did I have my allergy medicine with me? No. Of course not. They were resting on my kitchen counter at home.

I had a really itchy evening, doing my best to ignore it. Well at home, it got my medicine and the itch stopped. During those itches my body feels all stressed out, and it itches really badly all over. But after taking the allergy medicine it gets rest. It all goes away and everything feels ok and normal after a while.

It is absolutely no fun at all when it happens. I actually wonder if this is common? Or am I the only one getting this problem not taking my antihistamines?

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

