Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Rockfall closed road – smp.no

Leave a comment

Foto: Kjetil Haanes

Tuesday afternoon was county road 653 was closed to the north of the Selvågtunnelen Haddal Norway after a rockfall, police said. There were two blocks of stone of about 3000 kg each witch fell down from the mountain to the road. An ambulance was close to become hit by stones, but the driver saw what was happening and stopped in time. No persons were injured in stone leap, but the road was closed until at around 18, to be examined by a geologist. Pupils and others passed by the location of the rockfall still on foot after being dropped off the bus on the other side of the tunnel.

The two stones are loose from two different places in the rock around 200-300 meters up the mountain. It has previously been rockfalls near the tunnel opening, but not where the two boulders tumbled down on Tuesday.

Source: http://www.smp.no/nyheter/article333004.ece Photos Smp.no

Commentaries:

The mountains are very beautiful, but they can also be very dangerous. Weather and chifting temperatures in summer and winter make rocks come loose and in spring they fall. In Norway one should have one eye on the road, one in the mirrors and one in the sky. That makes three eyes. I usually call my relative the Cyclops in spring time and ask to be able to lend his eye for the spring, and he is usually always helpful, he does not have a drivers license anyway..  ;)

Here is a picture I took from a rockfall in Norangsdalen Norway in 2004.

Rockfall in Norangsdalen year 2004. Photo Annelie E Molin

This rock I would not have liked to meet on its way down. A rock like this would crush you like a bug, even if you were driving a big and heavy truck or a trailer. That big and heavy they are. This one was even bigger than the rockfall in Haddal.

Rockfall boulder at Kvitneset

Exactly when this boulder at Kvitneset went down the mountain side I do not know, but looking at the growth on top of it, it is at least 10-30 years ago. And there were lots of those big boulders at the bottom of the mountain in the directon of the house.

All rights reserved. No download allowed.

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

