Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Chemical sensitive asthma

Leave a comment

Since I got chemical sensitive asthma (occupational) I can no longer wash windows, use cleaning products, dissolvents, toilet sanitary liquids and so on. I also react on and get sick from diesel, AddBlue, motor oil, front window cleaning liquid.  In my job as a bus driver I am exposed to all of that. In my job as a bus driver I have to fill diesel, AddBlue, motor oil, front window cleaner, and also wash the bus both outside and inside, including window. For an example the washing agent / dissolvent used to wash the outside of busses, if I would not use a mask being around that I would in a second get so ill that I would have to get immediate help.

With my former employer I did not have to do that because they had staff doing it for us drivers. With my new employer I must do it myself (I am not complaining). With out a safety mask I would not be able to even enter the garage and washing hall without getting sick while washing is going on there even though the hall is not as much used as other places. Not meaning busses are not cleaned and washed, they are. But there are fewer busses to wash so the hall is aired out with long breaks in between use.

The chemicals used in a car wash is like toxic to me. My asthma reacts instantly to it, and I get an attack that get really bad from it if I do not avoid breathing it in.

But my new employer bought me a grand safety mask that takes care of all the chemical and the fumes. Getting the mask was no problem at all. I was told to go buy the mask and it was horribly expensive, but my health was more important.

Since I can not even clean the windows without getting sick from it, I am so very happy I got this mask. Now I can do my job without hazard to my health. This one is really effective. I can totally recommend it. (Get it here)

… and for those thinking that I would be able to work full time with washing busses using  a mask.. No, I would not be able to work 8 hours a day on full time washing busses even with a mask. I just say this only to explain it. Being in such environment is not possible full time. Chemicals stick to collueges and personal working clothes even more so when working full time with this and nor personnel take a shower at break or change their clothes, and I get sick from the fumes from the clothes and such too. Also chemicals is transmitted onto chairs and other things in the work area which affects my health too. So as soon as I take the mask off I would get sick immediately. And I would not be able to communicate with the mask on, and would not be able to take it off to communicate because then I would get acute sick. So working full time with washing busses is not possible. For me even with a mask on it is quick in and quick out of there to avoid the environment.

Still I am so very happy for the mask. Now I can at least clean one bus, and after airing it out use it. Jolly Good!

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

