Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Being hearing impaired – what is it like?

Leave a comment

English translation further down..

Ja, det å være hørselskadd er ikke alltid like enkelt. Da de andre prater i munn på hverandre, eller man sitter i et rom der er flere som snakker samtidlig f.eks. i et spiserom, restaurant, pøb, danselokal, bussen, toget o.l. Samme gjelder for da det er mye lyder i omgivelsen, høg musikk, de slår i en dørr, det blåser, luftbelgene i bussen løser ut, folk slamrer med bestikk og porselen, trekker ut en stol og skraper stolsbeina i gulvet, lyd fra trafikk mv. Snakker folk også lavt eller utydelig da er det enda verre. I media når de har høg nivå på bakgrunnsmusikk o.l. Med noe av dette, eller alt dette sammentaget, da hører man bare m.m.mfsflnvllvnv eller ingenting. Det kan være isolerende å være hørselhemmet. F.eks. skjer det ofte i store forsamlinger at jeg ikke hører hva andre sier, og jeg sitter der og kjenner meg veldig ensom, jeg blir taus og sier ingenting av den enkle grunn at jeg hører ikke hva de snakker om. Man blir utenfor samtalen, og da blir man utenfor omgjenget også, man kan ikke deltake. Det gjør at det blir kjedelig å gå noen steder fordi man likevel ikke kan deltake i praten. Jeg har et hørapparat og det hjelper, men det tar ikke vekk allt av disse problemene, det er jo engang slik at et hørapparat kan aldri helt erstatte helt den naturlige hørsel. Mitt første hørapparat fikk jeg for over 20 år siden, siden da har jeg fått et nytt og moderne digitalt apparat som er så mye bedre. Det er tøff lyd i den, og er en nytelse å høre på stereoen med den. Da jeg var liten hadde jeg ikke hørapparat til tross for at jeg ble hørselskada da jeg var sju år gammel, og da hadde jeg også store problemer med å bestemme retningen hvor lyden kom fra, og da jeg ikke hadde mitt hørapparat da hørte jeg mye mindre enn jeg gjør nå som jeg har mitt apparat. Man ble på en måte utstøtt uten at folk visste eller kunne noe for det. Det skjer fortsatt at jeg har det slik. Men jeg prøver å unngå slike situasjoner da jeg blir utsatt for det, og jeg forsøker å få folk å forstå at de må snakke tydelig o.l. Og med hørapparatet er det blitt bedre for meg. Jeg jobber og gjør masse ting, det har jeg iofs alltid gjord, men med hørapparatet så går det bedre. Jeg kjenner meg ikke handikappet, også om jeg er det. Men kanskje det har mere med å gjøre at jeg ikke husker noe annet, å være hørselskadd er normalt for meg.

Man anslår at det er rundt 700.000 hørselshemmede i Norge (2011). 15 % av befolkningen i yrkesaktiv alder er berørt.

Det er viktig å vite forksjellen på døv og hørselhemmet. En døv person hører ikke i det hele tatt, mens en hørselskadet/hørselhemmet person har noe hørsel igjen. Der er mange grader på hørselhemming.

Og hvorfor snakker jeg nå om dette? Jeg håper min åpenhet skal gi litt lys over hvordan det er å være hørselhemmet. Ikke noe annet.

Les mere om dette: https://anneliemolin.wordpress.com/category/health-and-wellness/hearing-disability/

http://www.tv2.no/gmn/nettprat/sliter-du-med-hoerselen-glem-small-talk-3569731.html

English:

Yes, being a hearing damaged is not always as easy. When the other speak in the mouth of another, or I am sitting in a room where several people talking at once, eg. in a dining room, restaurant, Pub, club, bus, train, etc. The same applies when there is a lot of sounds in the environment, they shut or slam a door, the wind blows, air sounds from the bus, when people slams/make sound with cutlery and china, pull out a chair and chair legs scraping the floor, sound from traffic, etc.. People speaking too low or unclear then it is even worse. With any of these, or all of this together then one hears only mmmfsflnvllvnv or nothing. It can be isolating to be hearing impaired. Eg. it often happens in large gatherings that I do not hear what others say, and I sit there and feel very lonely, and I get silent and say nothing for the simple reason that I can not hear what they’re talking about. One is outside the conversation, and then one is outside sociable too, one can not participate. It makes it tedious to go anywhere because you still can not be a participant in the chat. I have a hearing aid and it helps, but it does not take away everything of these problems. A hearing aid can never completely replace all the natural hearing. My first hearing aid I got over 20 years ago, since then I’ve got a new and modern digital device that is so much better. It’s a cool sound to it too, and is a pleasure to listen to the stereo with it. When I was younger, I had no hearing aid despite the fact that I was hearing damaged when I was seven years old, and back then I also had great difficulty in determining the direction where the sound came from, and when I had no hearing aid I heard a lot less than I do now that I have my set. One was in a way rejected without people knew or could help it. It still happens that I have it so. But I try to avoid such situations when I will be exposed to it, and I try to get people to understand that they must speak clearly, etc. And with my new hearing aid I have a much better life. I work and I do a lot of stuff as others do. That I have done all my life but with the hearing aid i do it better. I do not feel handicapped, still I am. But maybe that is because I have been hearing impaired for so long, I kind of do not know of any other way. Being hearing impaired is normal to me.

It is estimated that there are around 700,000 hearing impaired in Norway. 15% of the population of working age are affected.

It is important to know that there is a difference between being deaf and hearing impaired. Being deaf means you do not hear anything, while being hearing impaired you have a bad hearing. Hearing disabilites comes in several differents grades of severity.

And why am I talking about this? I hope that me being open about this will spread light over what it is like to be hearing impaired. Nothing else than that.

Read more about this: https://anneliemolin.wordpress.com/category/health-and-wellness/hearing-disability/

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

