Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Passed out because of perfume – Yvette Minter

Leave a comment

This is from an article in the newspaper myfoxdetroit.com.

Detroit school secretary says perfume is making her sick

Worker Has Fragrance Allergy, Could Lose Job

“DETROIT (WJBK) – You won’t find any perfumes in Yvette Minter’s pantry. Four years ago, she developed a severe fragrance allergy and is hypersensitive to perfumes, colognes and cleaning supplies.

“It’s like clockwork every time. My head will start hurting,” she said. “Then the digestive system starts. I get weak.”

That’s what she claims happens every day when she goes to work as a secretary at Detroit’s Rutherford Academy.

When she worked at other school buildings, Minter says they put her in her own office, but not at Rutherford. She’s smack dab in the middle of the central office.

“I’m angry. Who wants to go to work sick every day?” Minter told us.

The overpowering odors were so bad on Monday that Minter passed out and was rushed to the hospital. Doctors diagnosed and recognize her medical issue. So does the American Disabilities Act, but Minter claims all that Detroit Public Schools has done to accommodate her is put up a sign telling people to refrain from using fragrances. It’s a sign that’s ignored.

“I called the ADA accommodator. She basically said it’s a personal issue and I just have to deal with it. So, go to work every single day with the possibility of falling out,” said Minter.

Consequently, Minter has gone home sick every day since school started. Instead of working with her, Minter believes the school is forcing her out. A disciplinary hearing has now been scheduled because she has missed too much work.

“I do have to work and have to pay my bills,” she said. “I have to survive, just like they have to survive,” she said.

Minter says a lawyer told her she has a very good case.

We contacted Detroit Public Schools and were told no comment.”

Source:
http://www.myfoxdetroit.com/story/18456401/detroit-school-secretary-says-perfume-making-her-sick

I can only say I understand her completely and also that her co-workers are bad friends. She get sick and nobody do anything to help her. That is a big BUH!

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

