Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Fragrance, scent, nausea and migrane – by Smellinc

Leave a comment

This is a true story told by Smellinc. She prefer to go under a hidden name.

Fragrance Free Girl

Fighting for odorless air, calling
attention to the perfume obsessed,
and challenging the long
established scent industry.

I got my first migraine when I was 23 years old. I didn’t understand what it was or why I was sick. There was a crushing headache accompanied with nausea and incredible sensitivity to light and sound. It started with a few that year and then grew to a couple a month by the time I was 28.

One of the ways to try to control migraine headaches is to learn what triggers them. It is different for every person. Most triggers I can control like eating well and getting a good night’s sleep. The hardest trigger for me to deal with is fragrances.

One whiff of certain fragrances and I can feel the tingling sensation starting in my brain. The pain may not hit me until hours later. I believe my nervous system gets overly stimulated by certain chemicals/scents and a migraine reaction begins. Sometimes it is mild and I can function. Sometimes it can be so severe I am useless and have to crawl into bed until it goes away.

I have learned to live a fragrance free life. My husband does too. Most of my close friends and family try not to wear fragrances when spending time with me. It is impossible to go through the rest of day to day life without encountering fragrances. I am constantly trying to find new ways to cope.

I love to travel. When people are worrying on a plane it is usually because they are afraid of flying…. I worry about whether the person sitting next to me will be wearing perfume. On one trip a person sprayed air freshener mid-flight. I was so sick by the time we got off the plane my day was ruined. People have no idea that spraying scents in confined spaces isn’t just rude, it is harmful.

I would like to live in a world with more fragrance free products. I would like people to be aware of how their fragrances affect others and themselves. I would love to know which chemicals in the fragrances are the ones causing my issues. Until then be kind and leave the perfume behind.

Fragrance free girl and blogger,
Smellinc

http:// smellinc.wordpress.com

Thank you for sharing Smellinc :)

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

