Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

The goal with medicine is

Leave a comment

The ultimate goal when you got astma is to not have to use any emergency medicine inhalation at all.

The goal is to have such a good preventive medication as possible so that you do not need to use any emergency medication like Ventoline.

This nicely my doctor explained it to me when we talked asthma last time I went to see him.

I had been having heavy breathing for some time, and coughing. And this is a strenght on ones ordinary health and life, workdays become harder and the smile sometimes further away.

So how do one get this emergency medication free status? Work towards not inhaling any of what make you sick, get a stress free life, avoid inhaling to hard when it is cold and damp, sleep and eat good. And on top of that take your preventive medicines (brands like Symbicort Turbuhaler) as you should. If that is not enough you should consult your doctor to increase the preventive medicines go make your armor stronger.

What if you have reached the top dozage use of your preventive medicine? There are additional medication to help block and prevent asthma attacks.

For example like me, I have from 2×2 to 3×3 of my preventive medicine and I can not use more of that. So since I got strength on my body due to work, and I use as much preventive medicines as I am allowed I in addition to my Symbicort Turbuhalor got more pills.

Doctor prescribed SingulAir 10 mg. x1. And I should take one a day.

What does such a medication do? SingulAir is a pill, a prescription medicine used to prevent asthma attacks and for long-term treatment of asthma in adults and children 12 months and older.

  • Less need to use their fast-acting inhaler
  • Fewer asthma symptoms during the day
  • Fewer awakenings at night due to asthma symptoms
  • Fewer asthma attacks*
  • More days that their asthma was controlled

Fysically the medicine SingulAir 10mg tablets contain the active ingredient montelukast, which is a type of medicine known as a leukotriene receptor antagonist. It works by blocking the action of leukotrienes, which are chemicals released by the body as part of  allergic and inflammatory reactions.

Leukotrienes  are released from the lungs in people with asthma, causing inflammation and increased mucous production in the airways. They also cause the muscles lining the airways to contract, which narrows the airways. All of this makes it difficult for air to get in and out of the lungs.

Montelukast blocks leukotriene receptors in the lungs and, as a result, blocks the actions of the leukotrienes. This prevents the excess mucous production, inflammation and narrowing of the airways  and so prevents asthma attacks. It is also useful for preventing asthma triggered by exercise.

Note! Acute Asthma
SINGULAIR is not indicated for use in the reversal of bronchospasm in acute asthma attacks, including status asthmaticus. Patients should be advised to have appropriate rescue medication available. Therapy with SINGULAIR can be continued during acute exacerbations of asthma. Patients who have exacerbations of asthma after exercise should have available for rescue a short-acting inhaled.

If you experience such events when you feel your inhaled medicine do not do the trick then contact your doctor to get the help you need.

Have a nice day

Source:
netdoctor.co.uk
merk.com
singulair.com
and my own doctor

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

