Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Perfume free equals scent free?

Leave a comment

When you find products in your store claiming they are perfume free you should always look closer. The statement perfume free only tell the buyer it is not added perfume, but that is not the same as it is not added scent!

How come? Perfume should be read as perfume, like the one you buy on a bottle and spray on your nekk. Often many other scents are added to replace perfume. And that do not make the product fragrance free, or rather.. not scent free.

Read closer, maybe you will find it is added some etheric oils, flower or fruit extracts aso. All these are scents and should be labeled as fragrance or “perfume” if you like.

Just today I was at the pharmacy where I work. The ladies there are very helpful and know I am sensitive and got asthma. I asked for a scent free hand lotion, and the lady kindly helped med with some tips. She took a tube from the shelf and I could read it saying perfume free. I looked at the ingredients list and there were listed other smelly flower content. I smeared it on my skin and smelled it closely. After a 5 inhales I felt a irriation in my lungs, and coughed.

Perfume free is only telling you the product is not added perfume, like perfume on a bottle. It is not telling you it is scent free.

So when you buy a product either if you need it for yourself, or to be kind and helpful to others by not using scented products, please read through the ingreaditents list carefully for things that got a scent/fragrance. Also, stick your nose into it.

It should be scent free to be good enough.

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

