Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Thoughts about car brands and service

Leave a comment

5 years ago I bought a car, an Opel Frontera, and having an Opel I have had to come in contact with Opel garages.

Many times the service you get in a garage determinds if you will buy a car of the same brand the next time you want to upgrade your wheels. So what about Opel?

First time I came in contact with Opel was in 2007 and the law about registering the bumper front bar in the registrationpapers demanded documentation. I needed the documentation on my front bar that it is an Opel original. So I went to Opel where I live and asked for that documentation.

“- Yes, we will get that for you, and call you.” the man behind the desk replied.

So satified I went home and waited for the call he had promised.

One week, two weeks, three weeks, a month, two months, three months went past and no info on the front bar. I had went to Opel twice to ask during that time. The last time I got the reply:

“- I only work 6 hours a day, and I will not work overtime just to make a phone call for you and to you.”

And now the time limit was about to expire to get the papers on the front bar I needed. Lousy service and not documentation and now I was about to get problems with the vehicle department at Vegvesenet too, since I could not get the documentation needed.

So I called GM (General Motors) myself and asked for the head in technical department. I told him about the treatment I had received and my problem with getting the documents on the front bar. He kindly asked me to send him a photo on e-mail showing my car with the front bar on it. And the next day I had the documentation in my snail mail box.

What the auto shop did not manage to handle i three months the boss of GM Technical dep. managed in one day. That is good service for you!

The second time I needed to get in touch with the same Opel garage was when I needed the drawings for the electrical system of the car. I was going to get help with the car cabling. I kindly asked for them to get me the drawings and they again promised to get them for me and to call me in a week.

One week, two weeks, three weeks went past and no call. I called and asked again, and they promised to fix it soon and call back. This is two years ago and I have not heard from them yet.

So this time in 2012 when I needed help after have been on a day trip and had driven over 300 km, and the fan belt of my car broke and hurt some other parts as well, I was towed to a nearby garage. This garage is not an Opel garage, and they sure did as well as they could. They ordered for the parts with Opel, and I got a rental car meanwhile for a good price.

But here comes the thing again. It took two weeks for Opel to deliver the parts to the auto shop so they could repair my car. So during the time waiting for Opel to get their thumb out their behind I had to pay for a rental car 8500 NOK (appr. 1200 dollars) for waiting for Opel to deliver my parts!

The auto shop did their job, and Opel did not do it well – AGAIN!

I think next time I will buy a car, that it will not be an Opel.

Annelie

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

