Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Coca-Cola and Travel

Leave a comment

Something one has to deal with being a bus driver is people entering the bus bringing no money to pay for their ticket.

Some people seem to think it is a human right to take the bus, and it seems like they do not think they have to pay for it.

Not to be rude or something, but most of them are youngsters.

I drive a school bus as a part of my route, most of the children and teenagers onboard got a school bus pass. A school bus pas is a bus pas that the County pays for because they either have a long way to school, or have a dangerous way to school so they must take the bus. Others that are not counted among these have to pay for their ticket themselves.

This particular route I talk about today I mention as an example, but it is unfortunately not very uncommon (regardless of area or bus company).

There is one guy who do not have this school bus pass, and have to pay for the ticket. Most days he come onboard and pass the driver saying ” – I have no money today.”, and parks his behind on a seat. Not asking if it is ok or anything.

This has been going on for a while now and I have told him time and time again to pay for the bus trip. Then he comes some days later and pays for one or two days, current day and the day before.

But the rules are every passenger without a bus pass must pay for the bus fare up front. And lately I have become really irritated over his attitude. I have even threatened to ban him from the bus. With no effect. He is the kind of person that take the bus and the driver for granted, and treats it like it is his mothers car.

One of his arguments has been:

” – It is not my fault I do not have any money!”

Well his parents can help it, and he is old enough to remind the parents he need money for the bus. Even the smallest children are able to handle this.

So yesterday I turned to him and asked:

” – If you go to the store and want to buy a Coca-Cola and tell the cashier “- I have no money.” Do you think you can leave the store with the bottle of Coke?”

I heard a silence, and he thought for a few seconds.

“- No.” he replied.

” – Same goes for bus travels.”  I replied.

Then it went silent. He looked at me. You could have heard a needle fall to the floor.

That was yesterday.

Today he came with 45 krona, payment for three days. Tomorrow another driver is going to drive this route and I have instructed him to deny him to travel if he does not pay. And we drivers present at the office have agreed on that.

The School bus are not owned by the school.
It is not for free for anyone to take a ride with the bus.
If the passenger does not have to pay for their own travel because having a school bus pass, someone else pays for the fare.

It cost running a bus company. Holding buses, fuel, maintainance, cleaning, bus drivers salary, new tires,  administration of bus passes and the company, and such.

If everyone cut to pay for the travel, do not show bus pass, and such, there would not be any bus to take.

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

