Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Peak Flow – PEF – How to?

Leave a comment

The Peak Flow meter, or PEF, is a meter you blow into to check your lung function. It measure your ability to breath.

Peak Flow Messurement

This is an instrument used for messuring the airflow. You hold the handle and blow in the front. You get the results at the left side. Here I blow 350 as you see to the left, and the right side shows the normal value for a healthy person. This vary from Adult to children and women and men, so check with a lung expert for best use.

According to National Jewish Health, every asthmatic should blow into his pf meter twice a day first thing in the morning before you take any meds, and before bed.  After two weeks, you take the highest number that you blew and this is your personal best.

Now, when you blow 80-100% of your personal best, you are good to go.  When you blow 60-80% of your personal best, you should use your rescue inhaler, wait 20-30 minutes, and blow in your pf again.  If your pf is now above 80%, you are okay for now, but you should use your pf every four hours.

 

However, if your PEF is still below 80%, you should call your doctor.

 

When you blow in your meter and your pf is less than 60%, you should use your rescue inhaler and then have someone take you to the ER.  Or, if you are bad enough, call an ambulance (you should avoid driving yourself to the ER).

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

