Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Whiff of perfume could kill me – Lord Simon – dailymail.co.uk

Leave a comment

Interviu with Lord Simon in House ofthe House of Lords:

Whiff of perfume could kill me

“Like five million other people in this country (UK), I suffer from asthma. In my  case, allergic reactions to perfumes, tobacco smoke and chemical fumes have  forced me to make huge changes to the way I live.

The last time I went to the cinema, for example, was to see Crocodile Dundee  in 1986, and I can’t remember when I last sat in a crowded restaurant, or took a  train or bus.

Any of these “normal” activities will expose me to triggers which could set  off a potentially fatal attack. Just the slightest whiff of a woman’s perfume,  some aftershave or someone’s cigarette can bring on an attack in 20 seconds, and  leave me fighting for breath.

Three years ago, I collapsed and needed oxygen simply because a Baroness tried  to sit beside me after washing her hair that morning with a perfumed shampoo.

And last October it even caused a sitting of the House to be adjourned. I was Deputy Speaker that day when a message was handed across the chamber.  It was on a piece of faintly perfumed paper – and I inhaled a tiny whiff of the  scent.

In an instant, I was gasping for breath, as the bronchioles – the small  airways that carry air in and out of the lungs – became inflamed and  swollen.

As a result of my condition, nothing is left to chance. I have an oxygen tank  and mask in my office at the House of Lords, another in my bedroom at home and  one behind the driver’s seat of my car.

Although I live a full and very active life, asthma has changed my existence  beyond measure. I can no longer fly or travel on public transport. I cannot stay  in a hotel in case a smoker is in the room next door, or the pillowcases contain  residues of dry cleaning fluid.

I can’t go to the theatre, restaurants or the cinema. My wife, has had to change every brand of shampoo, deodorant and make-up which  she used to use.

Any guests to our country home are given a list of strict instructions about what they can and cannot wear.”

Souce and Read more: dailymail.co.uk

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

