Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Scent light and airfresheners can give you cancer

Leave a comment

Scent light can give you cancer

Think twice the next time you light a scented candle or spray some forest scent in your (smoky) lounge .

For me Scent lights have the effect on my breathing like you suck the air out of the room. If I sit in a room where is lid scent lights my lungs Closes up and I slowly suffocate. In addition to this effect you have maybe never thought of one can read With the newspaper Aftonbladet and EU that:

“Fragrance may be toxic.

Many air fresheners contain carcinogens.

cozy – but dangerous Scent Candles spreads pleasant smell but they can cause cancer. 

The EU consumer body BEUC who have tested 76 air fresheners , ie light , sprays and others with more or less fragrant products designed to make the air more pleasant to breathe – or simply hide an odor.

And many of the products tested were found to contain a variety of known toxins , BEUC writes in a press release.

Here are some of the toxins they found :

 Acetaldehyde . A carcinogen . Causes nausea and vomiting. The threshold value is set to 45 milligrams per cubic meter of air .

 formaldehyde. The carcinogen formaldehyde is highly irritating to mucous membranes and may cause hypersensitivity reactions. The products tested emitted more than WHO’s recommended limit of 10 grams per cubic meter.

 Styrén . Is the damage to the central nervous system, damage is usually described as a solvent damage.

 benzene. Is highly carcinogenic and its use in gasoline , paints, lacquers and solvents have been limited . In chronic exposure to benzene can give bone marrow damage and leukemia. The threshold value is 1.5 milligrams per cubic meter of air .

The preparations were also a number of other known allergens . Now requires BEUC to fragrance products shall bear warnings in case they contain hazardous substances.”

Read the Swedish article at http://www.aftonbladet.se/nyheter/article10505184.ab

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

