Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Push for a More Fragrance-Free Environment – Marie Schmidt – latimes.com

Leave a comment

Testimony of Marie Schmidt of Arcadia latimes.com

Qoute

“I start sneezing and my nose starts running the minute I smell them,” says Schmidt, whose respiratory system goes on red alert at the least whiff of scented products.

“It’s sort of like cigarette smoking,” she complains. “They are invading my privacy.”

Whether she realizes it or not, Schmidt is part of what could be the next big nationwide battle that pits individual rights against public health concerns: the push for fragrance-free environments.

“Ten years from now it will be politically incorrect to wear perfumes in public,” predicts Paul Imperiale, disability coordinator for the mayor’s office in San Francisco. That city’s fragrance-free plan, drafted in 1990, was never enacted.

With Americans now using perhaps a dozen scented personal-care products each day, fragrance foes’ basic argument is this: your right to wear these products ends where my chemical sensitivities begin.

Beyond perfume, activists for fragrance-free environments are targeting restaurant bathrooms with those pungent deodorizers, office buildings that use pesticides and astringent cleaning products, and the neighborhood mall, whose host of synthetic odors assault the nostrils, especially around the holidays.

“We are putting so much into our environment that people are getting sick. I don’t think it’s a matter of personal rights now, I think it’s a matter of everyone’s health,” says Joan Ripple, a consultant to state Sen. Milton Marks, who chaired a Senate Judiciary subcommittee on the rights of the disabled.”

“In public policy terms, this could be defined as an issue of handicapped access, just like having a wheelchair ramp into a church or public building,” Brown says. “To have services that aren’t fragrance-free is to deny services to a group of people whose population is growing every day.”

End Qoute

I should say I actually is about personal rights. The personal right to not have to get ill from others vanity, egoism and shallowness.

And you do not need to have MCS to suffer from other Peoples habits, you only need astma and allergy to get ill from it.

I think the fewer would serve nuts to a person allergic and sensitive to nuts, so why do you force Your fragrance on us who get ill from it? You invade and hurt Our Health. Stop it now!

http://articles.latimes.com/1994-12-15/news/ls-9400_1_scented-products

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

