Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Swimming pools, swimmers, chlorine, and asthma

Leave a comment

The air in swimming pools can cause asthma

“Elite Swimmers live healthy, but they have still twice as often signs of asthma as the rest of the population, according to new Swedish research. Air in swimming halls could be the explanation.

The many hours of training in the pool can increase elite svimmers risk of asthma. You should not fear that the child gets asthma because you are taking a walk in the hall sometimes. Swedish research shows that all the training elite swimmers making can increase the risk of asthma.

It appeared in an article in Scandinavian Journal of Medicine in Sports from last year. Now, one of the authors, Kerstin Romberg from Lund University, wrote a doctorate on the subject.

The conclusion is clear: Although elite swimmers live healthier lives than others, so they have almost twice as many diagnoses of asthma or asthma-like symptoms.

Greater risk than other sports

Research has shown that all athletes have an increased risk of asthma, but it ‘s probably not just the hard training that is the cause of it.

Swedish researchers have in fact compared swimmers with tennis players. In the population as a whole has 16 to 17 percent an asthma diagnosis. Among elite swimmers have 37 per cent of asthma. In tennis players have 25 percent the same diagnosis.

The explanation is probably the drug ” trikloramin ,” as found in swimming halls.

– When one purifies water in swimming pools using chlorine, there is a reaction between the chlorine and organic materials , such as urine. This leads , among other things, that the drug trikloramin formed , which has a detrimental effect on the mucous membranes of the respiratory tract . It may be one of the reasons , says Kerstin Romberg , who is employed at the Department of Thoracic Medicine and Allergology at the University of Lund in Sweden. ”

So what is my comment?

Well, I do not agree in all of this. I have asthma myself and I get very ill from chlorine. In fact I get ill from the gasses coming from hair and skin from swimmers entering a bus for example or someone coming to Close after swimming in a swimming pool. And that it should be only the trichloramin being the problem I do not believe, because I get sick from chlorine straight from the bottle too. Chlorine is strong and bad enough on its own.

They also claim in the article that the air in the swimming pool hall is good for a person already having asthma, which i strongly disagree With. Staying in the pool hall is bad notice for my Health. I live With it and they can not tell me it is good for asthma.

http://www.forskning.no/artikler/2013/desember/376462?utm_source=apsis-anp-3&utm_medium=email&utm_content=unspecified&utm_campaign=unspecified

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

