Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Sensitive to fragrance – Bea had enough! – ungaallergiker.blogspot.se

Leave a comment

This is about Bea that goes to school and she have both asthma, allergies and MCS and struggle with lack of understanding, lack of consideration, lack of caring and use of fragrance. Read her story:

Qoute

Bea has had enough!

“A call comes in to us here at Young Allergy sufferers during last week. It is one of our members is calling, Bea is her name. Exhausted and distraught, turns Bea to us. She suffers from fragrance hypersensitivity and even though Bea has had a serious attack at school, they refuse to ban perfume.

First and foremost, we want to clarify the concept of fragrance sensitivity. Fragrance Hypersensitivity means that a person can not tolerate fragrances or chemical substances. It is not the smell that people with fragrance sensitivity are sick from, it’s the chemicals. Bea is one of those who become very ill.

Bea goes to the High School in Kungsbacka, Sweden. There she attend her second year on health and care program. Bea suffering including asthma and hypersensitivity to fragrance. We’ll let her tell you:

Oh yes, it has happened. It has been an ordeal.

Just, today I feel good. I’ve been in school and enjoyed sports. The new asthma medicines work. Unfortunately, neither medicine for asthma or allergy have any effect on scent sensitivity. For me it is not obvious feeling well. I fight two battles. The first battle is the one with asthma and scent sensitivity and also the fought battle for understanding. I’ve been struggling with this for over a year but has now had enough. It came to the culmination began two weeks ago. I was close to giving up. But did not. Someone passed me in school and had perfume on. I got very ill and had to go home. I felt even pollen that made everything worse. Symptoms such as fatigue, headache, and concentration difficulties persisted for several days and I was at home the rest of the week.

It was Monday again and Mondays involves sports. After the sport, in the locker room, sprayed classmates perfume and I could feel my throut thickened. Someone said, “Oh , Bea,” as if they had forgotten about it and it just happened. They were not willing to help me or stop using perfume. I refused to go into the classroom, the chemicals were right there. Once again, I had to go home. I froze and was decrepit. Back home and completely exhausted, I slept 13 hours straight. What I must add is that a cure for fragrance hypersensitivity, does not exist. So I am totally dependent on my surroundings.

The next day I was still sick and stayed home. Thus I missed the national test in school. Teachers had stressed the importance of being in school that day then there is only one chance to pass the test. It made me upset. I can not help that my body reacts the way it does. When I called my doctor and explained the situation expressed great concern over my condition. The doctor wrote a statement, which I hope can help me.

The symptoms continued into Thursday. Only then I started to become feeling like better again. On Friday I was at the headmaster at a meeting. It appeared that the school has a ban on nuts but to ban perfume is unthinkable when, according to the headmaster ‘s impossible to draw a line . WHY is it impossible?! It’s about to tell students and parents that they should not use scented products to school. It seems to be easy and obvious with nuts . But why should it be impossible to put a perfume ban? And why do they inform no more? They had, for example, been able to do something about it in connection with Asthma Day May 6. I could lecture and be a voice.

Instead, the headmaster had decided that if I get a hard time breathing, I’ll stay in school and certainly did not go home but access to another room. They can be of assistance in moving me. It seems that I am the problem and thus ignores the real problem, that the chemicals in perfumes that makes me sick. It feels like I’m just in the way. The school management has gone out to the students at the school with will remember not to use perfume on themselves so much. But it was quickly forgotten and then it seems that the school management feel they have done their part. I do not agree on that. I still get strong attacks three times a week. The headmaster of the school felt that I could go into a respiratory course. They believe that I have no clue but the fact is that I’m living in all of this and I know my body. My teacher supports me and understands but as soon as I meet another teacher or have a new course I have to explain and draw the whole story all over again. There should be more knowledge!

A friend who I sometimes stay with in Gothenburg in Sweden have seen how I am treated and daily battle. My friends think it’s terrible and that the school gives a bad attitude. Absence Report is scary. I who want to be in school. I want to write national tests and take part in what is happening at school. I want to educate myself to become a ambulance nurse. Above all, I should not have to be isolated at home and feel completely helpless. I will in any case continue the war and I do not only do it for my own sake, but because I find that many others do not have the strength to do it themselves. I intend to protest and put up signs if necessary. I refuse to give up!

Right now, I am counting the days until Youth with allergies Camp, it’s not so far now and I look very much forward to it. I really need to meet others who have the understanding that I so much wish that more people would have.” ungaallergiker.blogspot.se

End qoute

Thank you so much Bea for sharing your story. We are many that understand you. Be proud of who you are and do speak out. For everyone that speaks out we help eachother.

http://ungaallergiker.blogspot.se/2014/05/gastinlagg-bea-har-fatt-nog_21.html

Swedish Young Asthma and Allergy Sufferrs
https://www.facebook.com/ungaallergiker?fref=ts

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

