Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Why Do We Underestimate Hearing Loss?

Leave a comment

The tone of a voice

“We shape our lives around our capacity for hearing. My preference for quiet places and one-on-one situations is not a coïncidence. These are the social situations in which my hearing doesn’t prevent me from communicating and enjoying myself. When I got fitted, one of the things I noticed is that almost all my friends were loud speakers. Funny, eh? Sometimes I think of all the soft-spoken people I never got to know because I simply couldn’t understand them, or maybe didn’t even hear them try to talk to me.”

Actually that is so true. I also like the silence because it is lovely and it is so much easier to hear everyone speak, and in a one to one meeting it is so much easier to communicate. The fact that it is also so much easier to really get to know eachother also have something to say. Like most people with a hearing disability I have easier to hear some peoples voices than others. There is a special tone and way to speak that appeals more. I actually often take my self in thinking “I could never be friends with that person, he/she talks with a tone too hard to hear.” It is not that it is a person who is a bad person, nore that I do not like the person, but it is more meaningful to choose friends you can actually hear what they say. Mumbleing people is a real struggle, and people that is afraid of ther own voice, talking so silently you have to tell them to speak up. One do not have to shout, but speak clear, with a clear tone and not to low.
The ear is a sound instrument, it is created to hear sounds.

Open Ears

People wait a long time to get fitted with hearing aids. I’m a good example of this, having hearing loss since birth (we guess) but waiting until my 38th year to do so, after figuring out “something was up” with my hearing when I was 13 or so.
hearingloss_underestimate_i
In his article about baby boomers and hearing aids, Steve points to an article in Hearing Review which mentions an average of 7 years waiting in the US between identifying hearing loss and actually getting hearing aids. The article is Right Product; Wrong Message, and you should read it. It’s about how we can try and change the social norm in hearing care, how hearing loss is perceived, etc.

Anyway. I waited, and it seems I’m not alone.

One thing I realised when I got fitted is that I had underestimated how much hearing loss I had. Various conversations I’ve…

View original post 289 more words

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

