Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

The point being nice

Leave a comment

Today, this very morning, I saw a picture at Facebook I just stopped at. It was so good and described very nicely and direct something I actually have experienced myself. People’s judgemental ways and lack of understanding.

image
Pic source: HealingWell.com Facebook

I NEVER REFUSE to help a customer, either they are in such a hurry they can not wait for their turn and I can only be one place at the time, or it is a matter of security, or I didn’t hear them since I got a hearing handicap. And as I said I am maybe occupied helping someone else.

In some occasions I maybe have a hard time hearing or even breathing.

What have I experienced?

I have experienced among other things

People sitting behind me mumbling something expecting I will hear them and be able to converse in the crowd and the noise, or they stand with the back to me mumbling, or they run past me in a hurry saying something impossible to hear. Really people, STOP! If you are talking to people please show some decency and talk with people to their face. If you do not it is actually YOUR fault if the communication fail. I have experienced being yelled at for things that is out of my hands.

And other experiences I have had is regarding when people come in after smoking blowing their smoke in one’s face, or wearing so much fragrance products one have to open a window, turn away from people to not get it straight in the lungs to avoid choking on it. Doing that one is perceived impolite and you get accused for being less customer friendly. Yelled at. But what is it that is actually happening? I am just as friendly as always, I say Hello and greet the customer and I smile as much as I can, still one is met with harsh unfriendly insensitive treatment. I try to avoid getting sick. Avoid getting sick from your habits and likes. And if I have to take too much medicine in a day (more than allowed) to manage, that too is a strain on the body with racing heart among other things. No wonder it might show in my face even if I try not to reveal it. I could just tell the customer it is his or hers habits of smoking and using fragrance products that is the problem, but then I would be accused for being rude as well. It is not seen kind upon telling people they and their smoke and fragrance products make me sick. So I keep quiet, try to endure, and do the best I can to hide I get sick from tobacco and fragrance a.s. But as with everything it is inevitable it shows, and honestly who would not be affected by less breathing ability?

I do want to do a good job, but really people, sometimes you give me a hard day.

It would be so nice if you could be understanding, understand that what is maybe showing in my face it is not about you. It is not personal. It is rather about that I am a person like anyone else with my own pains. Maybe you got a hurting back, shoulder, migraine or other personal issues that affect your life. For me it is asthma.

When I see a person have a day not being 100% I say something nice to make that persons day better. It doesn’t help being harsh and unkind.

One have a choice in life. One can choose between being nice or being unfriendly.

I choose to say something to ease the life of the person I meet, then I see the smile reach all the way to the next customer. You can do that too. You can choose to be friendly, instead of selfish and unkind.

Another step in being friendly is stop polluting the air we all shall breathe. We share the air and I do not want your fragrance, vaping and smoke.

You choose.

If you stop polluting the air, you better my life.

If I get fresh non-polluted air I am healthy, and then the pain won’t show in my face. And you get a wider smile.

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

