Annelie on asthma, humor, and the world.

I blog so that you can learn. Asthma is a handicap possible to overcome with Your help, learn why. Search the Testimonies, Go Fragrance Free archive and product testing.Collected knowledge through many years. Read "About site..". for more information.

Home made Lemon Curd

Leave a comment

Lemon Curd

wpid-20150305_162256-1.jpgLemon Curd, I remember it from my childhood, we used to have it on the breakfast table, and I fell in love with it. It was a bought Lemon Curd and as I grew up and became an adult I did not find the same brand in the store. For a long time I did not find any Lemon Curd in the store at all. And then some years ago I went to a food market in Ålesund in the summer time and there were a farmer from the UK selling all kinds of marmalade, and other UK local food, and there I found Lemon Curd again, and how wonderful it was. I bought from them several glasses and I went back there three years in a row to shop from them. But some glasses only last so long so of course I got empty.

Last week I found Robertson’s Lemon Curd at the store and I bought a jar. But I was disappointed, it was not as good as the one I bought at the market and not as good as the one from my childhood. It was jelly like and with a weak taste. It hardly tasted any lemon at all.

image

So I decided to find a recipe and make my own.

Ingredients

4 ecological unwaxed lemons, zest and juice
200g (2,22 dl) / 7oz  sugar
100g/3½oz unsalted butter (or margarine), cut into cubes
3 free-range eggs, plus 1 free-range egg yolk

How to:

Make lemon zest. Use ecological lemons and wash them thoroughly since you will eat the lemon peel.
image

image

Cut the lemons in half:
image

and make lemon juice.
image

Squeeze the juice out of the lemon like this.

image

Cut the 100 grams of butter (or margarine) in smaller pieces to make it melt easily.

image

Measure 200g (2,22 dl) / 7oz  sugar.

image

Take in total 4 eggs: 3 eggs with white and yolk, but the last egg only the yolk.

image

Whisk the eggs gently together.

image

Boil water in a big sauce pan. I use a steaming pan.

image

Put a clean sause pan or metal bowl in the boiling water (if you can do arrange it and hold it over the water). The water in the steaming pan should be gently boiling not hard boiling.

image

Put the lemon zest and juice, the sugar and the butter (or margarine) into the smaller sause pan / bowl.

image

Melt the butter with the sugar and lemon juice and zest while stirring.

image

Add the whisked eggs.

image

cook for 10-13 minutes. Stir the mixture gently every now and again. Do not leave it since if you do the eggs in the curd will be “hard-cooked”. So stir until the mixture is creamy and thick enough to coat the back of a spoon in a nice layer not dripping off.

If you taste the curd before it is ready you will probably find it have a strong lemon taste, but do not be alarmed it will be sweeter and smoother along as you cook and stir. And it will have a nice taste when it is done.

image

Remove the lemon curd from the heat and set aside to cool, stirring occasionally as it cools. Once cooled, spoon the lemon curd into sterilised jars and seal. Keep in the fridge until ready to use.

image

Serve

image

I have it on toast with a big cup of Earl Grey Tea.

But you can probably use it in a cake too.

I think my home-made Lemon Curd tastes really good and it is much better than the Robertson’s wpid-20150305_175458-1-1-1.jpgLemon Curd, sadly for them since they are “By appointment to Her Majesty the Queen Manufacturers of Jams and Spreads…”. Maybe the queen should better taste mine? The Robertson’s Lemon Curd does not taste much.  But the farmers Lemon Curd I bought on the market is still best, but sadly I do not have their recipe.

I like my home made.

/ Annelie

Author: Annelie

I like canoeing, photographing, friends, movies, food, humor, and going on trips. I dislike rudeness, dishonesty, violence, nastyness, and people not caring for others. I do not drink much, I do not smoke and I do not do drugs. I love friends who are kind to me and stick with me. If you want to give me a gift, the best gift is to stop smoking and stop using fragranced products. Then you give me health and that dear friend, is the best gift a person can get. It is a gift of love. I got asthma and I am hearing disabled.

Please, leave a reply. / Legg igjen et svar. / Kommentera!

